MICC 2017 YSN-ASM Young Investigator Award

Congratulations to Hanisah Mohd Zali, a PhD candidate under supervision of Dr. Idnin Pasya (MRI) and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd. Tarmizi Ali (ARC, FKE) for winning the Young Scientist Network (YSN) - Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM) Young Investigator Award in 2017 IEEE 13th Malaysia International Conference on Communications (MICC 2017), held on 28th and 30th of November 2017, in Johor Bahru. Hanisah presented a paper entitled "Measurement of Wideband Microstrip Underwater Antenna Performance with Buffer Layer Structure". The conference is technically sponsored and organized by the  IEEE Malaysia Communication Society & Vehicular Technology Society Joint Chapter.




IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer (DML)



MRI in conjunction with IEEE Antennas and Propagation/Microwave Theory and Techniques/Electromagnetic Compatibility Joint Chapter Malaysia were honoured to host the IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer program featuring Professor Amir Mortazawi from the University of Michigan, USA to give a research talk in UiTM Shah Alam. The event was held on the 17th of November 2017 at Lecture Hall C, Faculty of Electrical Engineering. The talk titled “Switchable and Tunable Ferroelectric Devices for Adaptive and Reconfigurable RF Circuits” intrigued a small crowd of staff and students about the applications of barium strontium titanate ferroelectric thin films in future wireless communication systems.

Amir Mortazawi received the Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin, in 1990. He is currently a Professor of electrical engineering with The University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. His research interests include microwave and millimeter-wave circuits, phased arrays, power amplifiers, ferroelectric thin film based devices and frequency-agile microwave circuits. Mortazawi was the Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON MICROWAVE THEORY AND TECHNIQUES from 2006-2010. He served on the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (IEEE MTT-S) Administrative Committee (AdCom) for eight years. Mortazawi served as the Associate Editor for the IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON ANTENNAS AND PROPAGATION (1998–2001) and IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON MICROWAVE THEORY AND TECHNIQUES (2005). He is currently the Chair of the DML selection committee for the MTT-S. Mortazawi is a Fellow of IEEE.


Below is the highlight of his talk:

The exponential increase in the number of wireless devices as well as the limited wireless spectrum, pose significant challenges in the design of future wireless communication systems. Adaptive and reconfigurable radios that can change their frequency and mode of operation based on the unused/available wireless spectrum have been proposed to address such challenges. Frequency agile RF circuits play a key role in realization of such radios.

This presentation is on the applications of ferroelectric thin film barium strontium titanate (BST) for the design of frequency agile radios. BST is a low loss, high dielectric constant field dependent multifunctional material. The electric field dependence of BST has been employed to design tunable RF and microwave devices and components. Another important property of BST is its DC electric field induced piezoelectric or electrostrictive effect. These properties are utilized to design intrinsically switchable film bulk acoustic wave resonators (FBARs) and FBAR filters. Switchable ferroelectric based filter banks can significantly reduce size and power consumption of conventional filter banks employed in frequency agile radios. Design of several BST-based adaptive and reconfigurable RF circuits were presented in the talk.







MRI visit to STRIDE on 27th March 2017



MRI visited STRIDE (Science and Technology Research Institute for Defense), in Kajang, Selangor, on the 27th March 2017. A discussion was conducted, chaired by the Chief Director, Dr. Mohmad Asri bin Abd Ghani, to identify potential areas of collaboration. Million thanks to the management of STRIDE for hosting this visit. We are looking forward to kick-start fruitful collaboration between the two institution with much enthusiasm.





Technical Interchange Meeting for ASEAN Region Basic Research (TIM ASEAN 2017) is an annual meeting supported by the AOARD (Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development), where forums were held among universities/research institutes in the ASEAN region to present their recent research activities. The purpose of the forums is to foster research collaboration on topics of mutual interest globally. This year, TIM ASEAN 2017 was held at UTAR, Sg. Long Campus on the 23rd and 24th March 2017. MRI participated in this year TIM ASEAN, where a presentation regarding the institute and the university was delivered by Prof. Dr. Zaiki Awang, on the second day of the event. 





Research Summit Day 2017 Award's Winner


Congratulations to our award winner at UiTM RSD 2017. Keep up the good work!


Name: Dr. Idnin Pasya b. Ibrahim  

Award: Industrial/Private Grant (Category: No. of grants) - Bronze Medal 


Name: Dr. Ahmad Ihsan Mohd Yassin

Award: Highest Number of Citations - Encouragement Award (Anugerah Harapan)