Recognition Logo


MICC 2017 YSN-ASM Young Investigator Award

Congratulations to Hanisah Mohd Zali, a PhD candidate under supervision of Dr. Idnin Pasya (MRI) and Assoc. Prof. Dr. Mohd. Tarmizi Ali (ARC, FKE) for winning the Young Scientist Network (YSN) - Academy of Sciences Malaysia (ASM) Young Investigator Award in 2017 IEEE 13th Malaysia International Conference on Communications (MICC 2017), held on 28th and 30th of November 2017, in Johor Bahru. Hanisah presented a paper entitled "Measurement of Wideband Microstrip Underwater Antenna Performance with Buffer Layer Structure". The conference is technically sponsored and organized by the IEEE Malaysia Communication Society & Vehicular Technology Society Joint Chapter.



Technical Interchange Meeting for ASEAN Region Basic Research (TIM ASEAN 2017) is an annual meeting supported by the AOARD (Asian Office of Aerospace Research and Development), where forums were held among universities/research institutes in the ASEAN region to present their recent research activities. The purpose of the forums is to foster research collaboration on topics of mutual interest globally. This year, TIM ASEAN 2017 was held at UTAR, Sg. Long Campus on the 23rd and 24th March 2017. MRI participated in this year TIM ASEAN, where a presentation regarding the institute and the university was delivered by Prof. Dr. Zaiki Awang, on the second day of the event.


IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer (DML)

MRI in conjunction with IEEE Antennas and Propagation/Microwave Theory and Techniques/Electromagnetic Compatibility Joint Chapter Malaysia is honored to host the IEEE Distinguished Microwave Lecturer program, featuring Professor Amir Mortazawi from the University of Michigan, USA to give a research talk in UiTM Shah Alam. The event was held on the 17th of November 2017 at Lecture Hall C, Faculty of Electrical Engineering. The talk, entitled “Switchable and Tunable Ferroelectric Devices for Adaptive and Reconfigurable RF Circuits” intrigued staff and students about the applications of barium strontium titanate ferroelectric thin films in future wireless communication systems.

Amir Mortazawi received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from The University of Texas at Austin, in 1990. He is currently a Professor of Electrical Engineering with The University of Michigan at Ann Arbor. His research interests include microwave and millimeter-wave circuits, phased arrays, power amplifiers, ferroelectric thin film based devices and frequency-agile microwave circuits. Mortazawi was the Editor-in-Chief for the IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques from 2006-2010, Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation (1998–2001) and IEEE Transactions on Microwave Theory and Techniques (2005). He served on the IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques Society (IEEE MTT-S) Administrative Committee (AdCom) for eight years. He is currently the Chair of the DML selection committee for the MTT-S. Mortazawi is a Fellow of IEEE.



Website Statistics

Users: 10
Sessions: 1,441
Page Views: 16,579
Hits: 43,649

* Data Source: Google Analytics

Contact Us

Universiti Teknologi MARA (UiTM)
40450 Shah Alam, Selangor Darul Ehsan

Tel: +603-5543 6121/+603-5544 5647
Fax: +603-5543 6121


Please publish modules in offcanvas position.